Make your own free website on Tripod.com

majshark's Star Wars TCG fansite


Frequently Asked Questions

Without the following people this page would not be what it is.
Huge thanks to Taltos for supplying a massive, informative list that has received many kudos and laid the groundwork for this page.
Ewok_gone_evil for sharing his bits of information.
TCG Rules Manager Paul Barclay for providing his wisdom in answering the majority of these questions.

If you have anything you would like to contribute to this page, or if you have a question about anything on this page, please let me know.

FAQ index

  • Most recent FAQs. Where to find the most recent FAQ additions.
  • Deck Building
  • Setup Phase
  • Build Phase
  • Retreat Phase
  • Battle Phase
  • Specific Cards
  • General

    Return to majshark's Star Wars TCG homepage.


    MOST RECENT FAQS

    8/30/02.
    Can Force go negative?
    No.

    Can Build Points go negative?
    No.

    Can you partially build a unit during setup using final BPs equal to the BP cost of the unit? Example: A situation with the Dropship where you have expended 25 BPs and want to partially build the 5 BP Dropship with the remaining 5 BPs.
    Yes.

    Thanks to Shayne of WotC and jp jedi for this information!

    Go/return to the FAQ index.


    DECK BUILDING QUESTIONS

    In tournament play, can your Dark side and Light side decks share neutral cards?
    No. You need to have 2 complete decks. If you have 4 Pilot's Dodge in each of your decks, you need 8 copies of Pilot's Dodge.

    Multiple unique cards - Can I have four of each Jango Fett (versions A-D), for a total of 16 in my deck?
    Yes. Note that you can have multiple copies of the same version of a card in your deck, but you cannot have two of the same version of a card in play.

    Go/return to the FAQ index.


    SETUP PHASE QUESTIONS

    Can build costs be reduced during setup? This question is specific to Lama Su who has the text "As long as Lama is in the Character arena, each Clone costs 1 fewer build counter to deploy." Does the word deploy mean during the build step or does this apply to the setup also?
    Abilities of units do not work during setup. Ignore all text on your units and your opponent's units until the start of the first turn.

    Lets say I only played 15 points worth of units and 1 partial build point. Does my opponent still get to spend all 30 points or does she have to stop just over 16?
    If you run out of units to put into battle, you are stuck with as many points as you have. Your opponent can carry on up to 30. If the difference is 16 points to your opponent's 30, then you won't have much of a chance. But, if you have 22-24 points, you can still have a good shot at winning. Having a hand full of Battle cards that you can use is good.
    Thankfully, this situation is very unlikely, as long as you use the Mulligan rule at the start of the game. If it does happen to you, it might be a sign that there are too many Mission and Battle cards in your deck, or that the build costs of the units in your deck are a little too low.
    Remember that you can't ever build a Mission during setup - you can't even partially build one at the end. You can only build units.

    Can I partially build more than one unit during the setup phase or am I limited to only one?
    You can only partially build one unit during setup.

    During setup, you draw a card for every card you lay down. Do you lay down a card and then draw a card in subsequent turns (i.e., every time you lay a card down do you pick one up)?
    No. You only draw a card to replace a unit during setup. The rest of the time, you just draw one card each turn.

    At the end of setup, if you have build points left over, you can use them to partially build a card. Can you use them to build a mission card that first turn or are leftover points only used for unit cards? Along those same lines, if you lay down a partially built card, do you draw a card to replace it during setup?
    You can only use leftover points for unit cards. And yes, you do draw a card to replace that last partially built card.

    What happens at the beginning of the game or in a build phase if you have build points, but no cards you can use them on (e.g. your hands has only Battle cards)?
    If you have build points that you can't spend, they're wasted.

    I had 14 build points on the table and no cards left in my hand to build during setup (all ended up being missions and battle cards and one was a unique unit already on table). I showed my opponent a unique unit and put it's deploy cost of 7 on it, leaving me with 21 total build points (9 left). I drew a card to replace it and got a unit that I could place. Now, can I go ahead and deploy that unit, or am I "stuck" because I showed a unit and put it down?
    No, unfortunately, you can't put it into battle - you partially built a unit, so you're done.

    Go/return to the FAQ index.


    BUILD PHASE QUESTIONS

    Your opponent has Darth Sidious out and you have to build face up. Can you have Yoda A both in play and in the build zone?
    Yes. Things are only units after they've been deployed. If they're partially built, they're still just cards.
    The uniqueness rules say that you can have only one of a particular unique unit in battle or retreated, no matter what version it is. They don't limit how many partially built unique cards you can have. So, you can be building 2 Yoda As at the same time, if you want.

    Do I need to show my opponent the card before I put it face down when partial building during the game or does this only happen during the setup phase?
    You don't have to show your opponent during the build step - all building is normally secret.

    Can you have more that one unit being built in your build area at any one time?
    You can build any number of cards during your build phase.

    What happens at the beginning of the game or in a build phase, if you have build points, but no cards you can use them on (e.g. your hands has only Battle cards)?
    If you have build points that you can't spend, they're wasted.

    About Mission cards...
    Mission cards must be built like any other units. They can only be used in the Command Phase (i.e. before the units start fighting). When you complete a Mission, you reveal it, follow it's intructions, and discard it. You don't have to "complete" it on the same turn that you fully build it, by the way; you can leave it face-down until you need it.

    Mission called TWILIGHT OF THE REPUBLIC (build cost 2...After you complete twilight the republic your build step ends and the light side build step starts. After the light side build step you get another build step using the remaining build points. Also the light side retreat step happens before the dark side retreat step this turn.)
    After I play the card and after the light side does their build phase, could I use San Hill's ability during the "second" dark side build phase to increase my build by +2 and have his +1 build for the opponent be wasted?
    Yes. This can be done.
    Thanks to only wan kenobi for this combo!

    Can Build Points go negative?
    No.

    Can you partially build a unit during setup using final BPs equal to the BP cost of the unit? Example: A situation with the Dropship where you have expended 25 BPs and want to partially build the 5 BP Dropship with the remaining 5 BPs.
    Yes.

    Go/return to the FAQ index.


    RETREAT PHASE QUESTIONS

    Splinter The Republic is a mission card that allows you to search your deck for a card with same name as card already in an arena. It's subtle, but a retreated unit in build zone is "not" in an arena. Therefore, I do not believe you can use a retreated unit in build zone to fulfill the mission's requirement.
    You're correct. However, there is a way to get around this. Put the unit you want to get into its arena. Then, complete Splinter The Republic. Then, in your retreat step, you can retreat your unit again, to keep it safe.

    I assume its okay to retreat Obi Wan (B) and still be able to use his damage prevention ability on Anakin.
    Yes, you can do this, because any ability that says evade, deflect, or prevent can be used while the unit is retreated.

    The rulebook says units must be untapped to retreat during the retreat step, but do they need to be untapped to retreat period? For example, say I have 3 60-speed units to my opponents 2 20-speed units. Could I attack with mine and then Go To The Temple my men back to the build zone, or do they need to be untapped still?
    No, just during the retreat step. If a card tells them to retreat, they don't normally have to be untapped (some will say they do, of course). You can use Go To The Temple in that way.

    I agree that a retreated unit is not in any of the arenas, but because of the steps...untap (ready the retreated unit), gain force, draw card, command starts, roll for build--at this point you would get the build bonus--build units then retreat units. If I'm playing this right you can continue to ready a retreated unit, get the build bonus and then retreat again.
    This isn't right. Untapping is just turning units from horizontal (tapped) to vertical (untapped). It doesn't put the units back into their arena. You don't get a chance to put units into the arenas until well after the roll for build points.

    When you use a characters ability during the build phase to tap (like 3PO), they retreat after they tap so they're not sitting ducks that can't attack. Is this correct?
    No. To retreat a unit, you have to tap it (as a cost to retreat). So, if you've already tapped it for its ability, you can't retreat it. Your opponent will get a chance to blow it up (if he or she can), assuming that there isn't a more battle-oriented unit that he or she would prefer to shoot at. Remember that those tap abilities get much better when you've wiped out your opponent's forces in that arena.

    Go/return to the FAQ index.


    BATTLE PHASE QUESTIONS

    Elan Sleazbaggano. If the light side takes him out, I assume the dark characters don't take his point of damage? What if he is retreated by a card effect?
    If he is discarded before the end of the battle phase, then he won't do any damage (he's neutral, so either side can play him). If he retreats, his ability stops working (because abilities normally only work in the battle zone).

    Order Here: Each battle card costs 3 more to play. Is that a rule change or a one-time occurrence?
    Order Here says "Each Battle card costs 3 more Force to play this turn. (Battle cards with no Force cost now cost 3 Force to play.)" Its effect only lasts until the end of the turn.

    War Will Follow...this is a battle card that reads, "Pay 3 Force -> Choose a space unit in your opponent's build area. Put that unit into the space arena. If it's tapped, untap it. I assume this only covers retreated cards and not partially built cards. I assume this because an earlier post mentioned that there was a distinct difference between "cards" and "units". Units were fully built and cards were not.
    That's correct.

    A battle cards ability of critical hit X can be added to a units ability for critical hit X. Do you need to roll two 6's to have both apply, or does one 6 rolled meet the requirement for both?
    You only need to roll 1 six to have both (all) a unit's Critical Hit abilities work.

    Can a unit’s abilities be used together for one instance of damage? For instance...unit A rolls 4 damage against Unit B. Unit B deflects 2 back to unit A, and evades 2 (and has enough force for both).
    Yes. If a unit has Evade 2 and Evade 3, that unit can use both. You just can't use any individual ability twice during one attack.

    Unit A rolls 4 damage against Unit B. Unit B deflects 2 back to unit A, and evades 2. Unit A deflects this same 2 back. Is this considered new damage so that unit B can use the ability to evade or deflect again? Could this go on until one or the other runs out of force?
    Yes, this is new damage, and it can be Deflected again. The 2 Jedi could keep bouncing the damage back and forth until one of them runs out of force.

    Can you play more than one battle card during a single battle involving the same unit?
    Yes. You can play as many Battle cards as you want (assuming you have enough Force to pay for them all).

    Before any attacks there is a Play or Pass (PoP) chance. Light side plays Anakin's Inspiration during this PoP. It resolves and gives the light side card +20 speed for a total of 50 speed. Both players pass and then the highest speed unit attacks, which is now the light side unit.
    Correct.

    If I have units that may bombard in the space arena, and my opponent has no units in that arena, do we skip the arena in the battle step or do I get to use my units ability to bombard?
    You never skip an arena. You'll alway go through every unit in each arena, in speed order. When it's your unit's turn, you can choose to have it attack (either normally or using a special ability), play a "Play only when this unit would attack" ability, or have it do nothing and just tap. Bombard still works just fine when your opponent doesn't have any units in the Space arena.

    Lets say I have three luxury airspeeders and a destroyer droid squad. Each of the luxury airspeeders has this text "as long as this unit is in the Ground arena, each of your other Ground units gets +10 speed." Here's my question...does this mean that the speed of each of my luxury airspeeders is at 80 (up from 60) and my destroyer droid squad has a speed of 70 (up from 40)? Or do my luxury airspeeders have 70 speed and my droid squad has 50?
    Yes, everything is cumulative.

    Is Prevent in Star Wars like prevent in Magic? In Magic, prevent is a shield that can activated before damage and it remains until end of turn. In Star Wars, my friend attacks my clone platoon with 4 die and it hits with 2. I used High Force Dodge which prevents 5 damage. Do I have 3 preventions shield for another attack like Magic?
    No. In Star Wars, any extra prevention is wasted.

    Let's say my opponent attacks with a ship, and during the pass-or-play window that happens immediately after he taps it I play Dark Side's Command on the ship, what happens?
    a) Immediately tap it and choose a new target for it?
    b) Finish the current combat as normal and wait until the ship would attack again to use DSC's ability?
    c) Stop the current combat because the ship is now untapped, and use DSC's ability when the ship would attack again?
    In other words, does untapping the ship or any other part of DSC's abilities cause the ship to alter it's current course of action if it was just declared as attacking one of my ships?
    Answer (b) is correct. Untapping a unit does nothing special to it. You have to wait for it to actually attack.

    My opponent has no units in the space arena but he attacks me with Ion Cannon. I try to save my unit with Padawan's Deflection. Can I do that?
    Yes.

    At the start of the battle in the character arena I use SURGE OF POWER (+2 power) on Jango Fett. Can my opponent use KNOCKDOWN (tap a character unit) on Jango to prevent the attack and waste my Surge of Power, or do cards such as Knockdown need to be played before any attacks are announced?
    No, because Surge of Power is played during an attack (after the unit has already tapped to attack). you do have to play Knockdown before the unit attacks. If your opponent had played Dark Speed, then Knockdown would work fine (because he'd want to play Dark Speed before the unit attacks).

    Same scenario as above, but instead of Knockdown my opponent plays LULL IN THE FIGHTING (characters deal no damage this turn). Can my opponent do this to waste my Surge of Power, or does it have to be played before any attacks are announced?
    Lull in the Fighting says that it must be played before any units attack.

    Say you've got an N-1 Starfighter with Critical Hit 1. You activate R2-D2 to give all space units Critical Hit 1. Does this essentially give my N-1 Starfighter Critical Hit 2?
    Yes. If a natural six is rolled the starfighter does two additional damage instead of one.

    Someone suggested that this could be done...
    I have Elan Sleazebaggano in the character arena. My other units (which get Elan's speed bonus) attack. When it comes to Elan's turn can I play Go to the Temple to retreat him and prevent the damage he would do to my other characters?
    Yes, you can retreat him, so his ability won't work.

    Go to the Temple states "play only if no unit is attacking." Does this refer to only the units you want to retreat or ALL units?
    You can't play Go to the Temple if any unit is attacking. It doesn't matter if you don't want to retreat the unit that's attacking.
    Thanks to FAQ guru Paul Barclay for the clarification.

    Would stun affect the power attributed to Ion Cannon/Bombard?
    Yes.

    Do multiple stun hits cumulate? Example: If a unit with stun 2 hits unit X, and another unit with stun 3 hits unit X, would unit X be -5 power until end of battle?
    Yes.

    If you played Maul (A)'s overload then played Brutal Assualt on him would you be able to evade both the sets of 2 damage or only one of the 2's and take 2 damage?
    You can evade both. They both happen "when the attack ends." The "when" means they're both triggered abilities, and so you deal with one at a time.

    Concerning the Clone Captain...

  • I had clones in the ground arena but Clone Captain was the only guy in the character arena. Darth Tyrannus rolled and attacked Clone Captain and dealt 7 damage to him. I had two clone units in the ground arena with health 4, one with health 7 but it had 5 damage counters on it already.
    Can the Clone Captain take the damage counters that should go on him and place them all on the damaged unit, even tough it will kill it?
    Yes, absolutely.
  • Do you put damage counters on one at a time, theorethically? Or do you count up how many damage counters you're to put on a unit and if it is as many health or more than that unit dies?
    Put them on all at once, then see if anything's dead.
  • Also, if you're using the Captain to place damage counters on a Ground unit, can you use Pilots Dodge?
    No. Clone Captain isn't doing any damage, just putting damage counters on the unit.
  • Also, lets say in the above example Tryannus has stun and only rolls two hits. The Captain places those damage counters on the Ground unit, is that ground unit now stunned? If not, would that mean that it was the Captain who damaged the Ground unit? It brings up several questions on redirection. With cards like Padawan's Deflection the battle card is the one doing the damage in essence, but here, where exactly is the damage coming from?
    There's no damage here. The Clone Captain is just putting damage counters on a unit (that doesn't count as doing damage, so it can't be prevented, and doesn't trigger Stun).
    With Padawan's Deflection, the damage is coming from the unit that you prevented damage to. So, it doesn't interact with Stun, unless you're deflecting damage away from a unit that has Stun.

    Go/return to the FAQ index.


    SPECIFIC CARD QUESTIONS

    Splinter The Republic is the mission card that allows you to search your deck for a card with same name as card already in an arena. It's subtle, but a retreated unit in build zone is "not" in an arena. Therefore, I do not believe you can use a retreated unit in build zone to fulfill the mission's requirement.
    Correct. However, there is a way to get around this. Put the unit you want to get into its arena. Then, complete Splinter The Republic. Then, in your retreat step, you can retreat your unit again, to keep it safe.

    I assume its ok to retreat Obi Wan (B) and still be able to use his damage prevention ability on Anakin.
    Yes, you can do this, because any ability that says evade, deflect, or prevent can be used while the unit is retreated.

    If the word droid is in the title or subtitle of the card then is it a droid?
    No. It's only a Droid if the word "Droid" appears in the subtype line. The title of the card is irrelevant, so the Droid Control Ship is not a Droid.

    Let's say my opponent attacks with a ship, and during the pass-or-play window that happens immediately after he taps it I play Dark Side's Command on the ship, what happens?
    a) Immediately tap it and choose a new target for it?
    b) Finish the current combat as normal and wait until the ship would attack again to use DSC's ability?
    c) Stop the current combat because the ship is now untapped, and use DSC's ability when the ship would attack again?
    In other words, does untapping the ship or any other part of DSC's abilities cause the ship to alter it's current course of action if it was just declared as attacking one of my ships?
    Answer (b) is correct. Untapping a unit does nothing special to it. You have to wait for it to actually attack.

    My opponent has no units in the space arena but he attacks me with Ion Cannon. I try to save my unit with Padawan's Deflection. Can I do that?
    Yes.

    Can I use Mending to remove 0 damage counters from a charecter unit and gain 1 force?
    Yes.

    Can I use Mending if I have no character unit to gain the 1 force?
    Yes.

    Target The Senator...dark side mission card that reads "When the battle phase starts, choose one of your opponent's units in any arena. Target the Senator does 4 dice of damage to that unit." Does this mean it automatically does four damage to a unit or do I roll four dice to determine damage?
    You roll four dice to determine damage.

    In reference to the mission card Target the Senator...I assume that the unit's evade and deflect would work and I think the wording of the card (4 dice of damage) implies that shields should reduce the damage. What about battle cards? Would there be a play-or-pass chance when the card is played?
    Shields won't work with this card. It reduces the power of the attacking unit, and there's no attacking unit in Target the Senator.
    Any battle cards and activated abilities would work just fine (there's a play-or-pass chance any time there's damage).

    Can I use Cheat the Game to reroll the dice from Target The Senator?
    No.

    Someone suggested that this could be done...
    I have Elan Sleazebaggano in the character arena. My other units (which get Elan's speed bonus) attack. When it comes to Elan's turn can I play Go to the Temple to retreat him and prevent the damage he would do to my other characters?
    Yes, you can retreat him, so his ability won't work.

    Can Padawan's Deflection be used to counteract Elan Sleazebaggano's negatvie ability (dealing one damage to each of your other characters at end of combat)?
    No. You can't use Battle cards to deflect his negatvie ability because the damage is done when the Battle phase ends (you can only play Battle cards during the Battle phase). Characters eith Evade/Deflect can use those abilites to counteract his damage.

    Go to the Temple states states "play only if no unit is attacking." Does this refer to only the units you want to retreat or ALL units?
    You can't play Go to the Temple if any unit is attacking. It doesn't matter if you don't want to retreat the unit that's attacking.
    Thanks to FAQ guru Paul Barclay for the clarification.

    If the light side takes Elan Sleazebaggano out, I assume the other characters don't take his point of damage? What if he is retreated by a card effect?
    If he is discarded before the end of the battle phase, then he won't do any damage (he's neutral, so either side can play him). If he retreats, his ability stops working (because abilities normally only work in the battle zone).

    Order Here...each battle card costs 3 more to play. Is that a rule change or a one-time occurrence?
    Its effect only lasts until the end of the turn.

    Do abilities stack? If I have 2 Nexu in play do my opponent's abilities cost 2 extra force?
    Yes.

    Would Bail Organa's tapping ability be affected by a Nexu (is tapping considered an activating ability)? Would you have to pay 1 force to use Bail's ability?
    Yes, you have to pay 1 more Force. Nexu makes all activated abilities cost more. Any ability with the arrow symbol is an activated ability.

    The rulebook states that units must be untapped to retreat during the retreat step, but do they need to but untapped to retreat period? For example, say I have 3 60-speed units to my opponents 2 20-speed units. Could I attack with mine and then Go To The Temple my men back to the build zone, or do they need to be untapped?
    No, just during the retreat step. If a card tells them to retreat, they don't normally have to be untapped (some will say they do, of course). You can use Go To The Temple in that way.

    War Will Follow...this is a battle card that reads, "Pay 3 Force -> Choose a space unit in your opponent's build area. Put that unit into the space arena. If it's tapped, untap it. I assume this only covers retreated cards and not partially built cards. I assume this because an earlier post mentioned that there was a distinct difference between "cards" and "units". Units were fully built and cards were not.
    That's correct.

    Does Padme's ability "as long as Padme is in the character arena, each of your Jedi gets +10 speed and Anakin Skywaker gets +2 power" apply to ground and space units that have subtypes such as "Jedi Starfighter" and "Jedi Knight", or just character units with Jedi subtypes?
    Yes. Padme will give +10 speed to each of your Jedi Starfighters. If we wanted a card to only affect Characters, we would write the card "each of your Jedi Characters."
    The subtype rule is pretty straightforward; if a card has all of the words that are looked for in its subtype line, then it's that type of card. If it doesn't have all of them, then it's not. The same is true for the Geonosian examples - the Defense Platform and Tyrannus's Speeder are both affected.

    Can Anakin, a Jedi padawan, be pulled from reserve by the card that targets Jedi, I believe its Jedi Council Summons?
    Yes. Any card with the word Jedi in its type line can be pulled out by Jedi Council Summons. (This includes the Jedi Starfighters!)

    The Mission "Jedi Council Summons" lets you take a "Jedi" card from your deck. What is a "Jedi" card? My guess is any card with "Jedi" in its title or type. However, is this correct? Given the explanation about a droid being defined by its type line, is a "Jedi" card only a card that includes that term in its type line?
    It's any card with the word "Jedi" in its type line. So, you can get the Jedi Starfighter 3R3, but not the Jedi Knight’s Deflection battle card.

    About Mission cards...
    Mission cards must be built like any other units. They can only be used in the Command Phase (i.e. before the units start fighting). When you complete a Mission, you reveal it, follow it's intructions, and discard it. You don't have to "complete" it on the same turn that you fully build it, by the way; you can leave it face-down until you need it. Thanks to Ewok_gone_evil for providing this information.

    If Obi-Wan version A is hit for 8 damage, can he prevent the damage to himself and get the 8 force?
    Yes.

    The card text for Clone Officer reads "as long as this unit is in the character arena, each of your Clones gets +1 power."
    Here's my question...if the Clone Officer is in the character arena, does he add +1 power to himself?
    Yes, he gives +1 power to himself, because he doesn't say "your other Clones."

    If you had 3 Clone Officers in the arena, do you get +3 to Power to all clones?
    Yes. Each of them (and each of your other Clones) get +3 Power.

    I play a Windu´s Solution (pay 2 force...target unit gets +30 speed and +2 power) on a unit with Ion Cannon 3. Do I get Ion Cannon 5 for this attack?
    Yes. The +2 power effect applies to both a normal attack and an Ion Cannon attack.

    At the start of the battle in the character arena I use SURGE OF POWER (+2 power) on Jango Fett. Can my opponent use KNOCKDOWN (tap a character unit) on Jango to prevent the attack and waste my Surge of Power, or do cards such as Knockdown need to be played before any attacks are announced?
    No, because Surge of Power is played during an attack (after the unit has already tapped to attack). you do have to play Knockdown before the unit attacks. If your opponent had played Dark Speed, then Knockdown would work fine (because he'd want to play Dark Speed before the unit attacks).

    Same scenario as above, but instead of Knockdown my opponent plays LULL IN THE FIGHTING (characters deal no damage this turn). Can my opponent do this to waste my Surge of Power, or does it have to be played before any attacks are announced?
    Lull in the Fighting says that it must be played before any units attack.

    Cheat the Game vs. Jar Jar: Jar Jar lets you reroll any or all of the attack dice once per attack. Cheat the Game lets you reroll all of your attack dice. If the light side player uses Jar Jar to reroll the dice that hit, can the dark side player then use Cheat the Game to reroll all the dice? Also Jar Jar cannot use his ability after Cheat the Game because it is still the same attack. Is this correct?
    Yes. That is correct.

    The LS player cannot use "Cheat the Game" to re-roll dice that Jar Jar A re-rolled because the "Cheat the Game" must be applied to "YOUR ATTACK DICE", and the dice Jar Jar rerolls are still DS attack dice (even though the LS player gets to roll them). Did I get this right?
    Yes. You're correct.

    My opponent fires an Ion Cannon (from a ground unit) on one of my space units. I play Padawan's Deflection to prevent one damage. Where does the redirected damage go?
    The redirected damage may go to another unit in the same arena where the original damage was prevented (the space arena in this case).

    Say you've got an N-1 Starfighter with Critical Hit 1. You activate R2-D2 to give all space units Critical Hit 1. Does this essentially give my N-1 Starfighter Critical Hit 2?
    Yes. If a natural six is rolled the starfighter does two additional damage instead of one.

    Mending. Remove four counters from a character. Gain a force.
    Can I play this card to gain the force even if I have no characters in the character arena?
    Yes. You can even play it if you have no Characters anywhere (Mending will remove damage from Characters that aren't in the Character arena).
    Thanks to SWTCG rukes guru Paul Barclay for the answer.

    Mission called TWILIGHT OF THE REPUBLIC (build cost 2...After you complete twilight the republic your build step ends and the light side build step starts. After the light side build step you get another build step using the remaining build points. Also the light side retreat step happens before the dark side retreat step this turn.)
    After I play the card and after the light side does their build phase, could I use San Hill's ability during the "second" dark side build phase to increase my build by +2 and have his +1 build for the opponent be wasted?
    Yes. This can be done.
    Thanks to only wan kenobi for this combo!

    Concerning the Clone Captain...

  • I had clones in the ground arena but Clone Captain was the only guy in the character arena. Darth Tyrannus rolled and attacked Clone Captain and dealt 7 damage to him. I had two clone units in the ground arena with health 4, one with health 7 but it had 5 damage counters on it already.
    Can the Clone Captain take the damage counters that should go on him and place them all on the damaged unit, even tough it will kill it?
    Yes, absolutely.
  • Do you put damage counters on one at a time, theorethically? Or do you count up how many damage counters you're to put on a unit and if it is as many health or more than that unit dies?
    Put them on all at once, then see if anything's dead.
  • Also, if you're using the Captain to place damage counters on a Ground unit, can you use Pilots Dodge?
    No. Clone Captain isn't doing any damage, just putting damage counters on the unit.
  • Also, lets say in the above example Tryannus has stun and only rolls two hits. The Captain places those damage counters on the Ground unit, is that ground unit now stunned? If not, would that mean that it was the Captain who damaged the Ground unit? It brings up several questions on redirection. With cards like Padawan's Deflection the battle card is the one doing the damage in essence, but here, where exactly is the damage coming from?
    There's no damage here. The Clone Captain is just putting damage counters on a unit (that doesn't count as doing damage, so it can't be prevented, and doesn't trigger Stun).
    With Padawan's Deflection, the damage is coming from the unit that you prevented damage to. So, it doesn't interact with Stun, unless you're deflecting damage away from a unit that has Stun.

    Go/return to the FAQ index.


    GENERAL QUESTIONS/CORE CONCEPTS

    When you stack, is it the same class? Like if I had a Jango Fett A and Jengo Fett C out. Could I only stack A's? Or do they both stack? And do abilities like critical hit also increase when they are stacked?
    You can't stack Jango A with another Jango A, but you can stack him with one each of Jangos B, C, and D.
    Abilities don't change when you stack a Character. Only speed, power, and health (and build cost) change.

    If a unique character dies can you play the same character again?
    Yes.

    Does Padme's ability, "As long as Padme is in the character arena, each of your Jedi gets +10 speed and Anakin Skywaker gets +2 power" apply to ground and space units that have subtypes such as "Jedi Starfighter" and "Jedi Knight", or just character units with Jedi subtypes?
    Padme will give +10 speed to each of your Jedi Starfighters. If we wanted a card to only affect Characters, the card would state "each of your Jedi Characters."
    The subtype rule is pretty straightforward: If a card has all of the words that are looked for in its subtype line, then it's that type of card. If it doesn't have all of them, then it's not. The same is true for the Geonosian examples - the Defense Platform and Tyrannus's Speeder are both affected.

    Do abilities stack - If I have 2 Nexu in play do my opponent's abilities cost 2 Force extra?
    Yes.

    What, if anything, happens if your deck runs out of cards?
    Nothing happens if your deck runs out of cards (except that you won't be able to draw any more cards).

    If the word droid is in the title or subtitle of the card then is it a droid?
    No. It's only a Droid if the word "Droid" appears in the subtype line. The title of the card is irrelevant, so the Droid Control Ship is not a Droid.

    About Play-or-Pass...
    An example...your opponent manages to get 2 hits on one of your space units. Just before that damage arrives, you get a damage-prevention play-or-pass chance. You decide to play Pilot's Dodge. Then the opponent gets a p-o-p chance, and does nothing. Then you get another one, and do nothing. Both players have passed in a row, so the Pilot's Dodge prevents the damage. Thanks to Ewok_gone_evil for providing this information.

    I'm playing the Dark Side. My opponent has Obi's Starfighter in the space arena with two damage tokens on it. During the build phase, I play Target the Senator. It says "At the beginning of the battle phase...” Obi's StarFighter also says "At the beginning of the battle phase...” Now, according to play or pass, my action would come first (the result of Target the Senator) then the healing of Obi's Ship, since we both have actions but DS breaks ties - right?
    To answer this, we just look at the rules for triggered abilities.
    If more than one triggered ability tries to take effect at the same time, the Dark Side player chooses one of his or her triggered abilities, if any, and follows its instructions. If the Dark Side player has no triggered abilities waiting, the Light Side player chooses one of his or her triggered abilities and follows its instructions. Repeat this until no triggered abilities are left.
    So, since you're the Dark Side player, your Target the Senator happens before the Starfighter's ability. You've got a very good chance of blowing it to bits.

    Is an ability that requires tapping considered an activating ability?
    Yes.
    Thanks to FAQ guru Paul Barclay for the clarification.

    Can Force go negative?
    No.

    Can Build Points go negative?
    No.

    Can you partially build a unit during setup using final BPs equal to the BP cost of the unit? Example: A situation with the Dropship where you have expended 25 BPs and want to partially build the 5 BP Dropship with the remaining 5 BPs.
    Yes.
    Thanks to Shayne of WotC and jp jedi for this information!

    Go/return to the FAQ index.


    Return to majshark's Star Wars TCG homepage.